Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

San-Cap Rotary installs new officers

May 5, 2014
Special to the Reporter ( , Island Reporter, Captiva Current, Sanibel-Captiva Islander

The installation of new Sanibel-Captiva Rotary Club officers serving for the year 2014-2015 took place at the Captiva Yacht Club.

For the last two years, Captiva Yacht Club has created a warm and welcoming setting for this changing of the guard ceremony. Preceding the formal ceremonies, members mixed and mingled, celebrating one of our most successful years in both fundraising and the giving of financial support to a large number of meaningful projects on island and off.

Outgoing President Scot Congress had done an outstanding job particularly in member involvement. Therefore, it was no surprise that Scot used this occasion to honor members that went above and beyond, exemplifying Rotary's motto "Service Above Self," in making this Rotary year so successful. Beautifully designed Spirit of Rotary certificates first went to outstanding Rotarians that have made a difference: The Arts and Crafts Fair leadership team of Robert Monk, committee chair; Tony Gropp, artist liaison; Bill Rahe, volunteer coordinator; and Dick Waterhouse, logistics.

Article Photos

The Sanibel-Captiva Rotary Club swore in new officers for the 2014-2015 year. PHOTO PROVIDED.

Our new web-site designer Joel Ospa received a special recognition award along with Chet Sadler for chairing the Franceso Attesi Classical Concert fundraiser at the Heights Community Center dedicated to Rotary's Gift of Life Florida; another award for Bill Rahe, for creating and pulling together a new fundraising effort, our Summer in the Colorado Mountains Raffle; and John Danner, club treasurer. Don Russell, club sergeant-at-arms and Janet Strictland, membership chair, received Luc Century glass vases. Chris DeCosta received new shirts for his monthly Road Kill crew and John Carney received a special Rotary Coin in appreciation for helping Scot understand that "you only get out of Rotary, what you put in."

The program for the evening was turned over to incoming President Bill Rahe, and he proceeded to honor Congress by recapping our club's successful year and by presenting him with a special award of appreciation.

Scot swore-in Bill Rahe's as president of the Sanibel-Captiva Rotary Club in 2014-2015. All club past-presidents in attendance came forward for the passing of the Sanibel-Captiva Rotary President's pin ceremony. Not in any particular order: Lee Almas, Chet Sadler, Jim Reed, Robert Monk, John Grey, Joel Ospa, John Carney, and Alex Werner. The special guest at this event was Tim Milligan, Rotary District #6960 Governor, and he called the newly elected Broad of Directors 2014-2015: President Bill Rahe, President Elect Chris DeCosta, Vice President Charlie Emerson, Secretary Chet Sadler, Treasurer John Danner, Sergeant-at-Arms Don Russell and past-president Scot Congress.

The club's board of director members for the 2014-2017 three-year term: Bob Guggino, re-elected, and Scott Herzoff, new. Trust Officers for the 2014-2017 three-year term: Lee Almas and 2012/13 past president John Grey, re-elected to be inducted for their terms.

A great round of applause followed and everyone is looking forward to another great Rotary year, which starts in July.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web